Oil Capital Racing Series

  • 1
Oil Capital Racing Series

Oil Capital Racing Series

Welcome to the official internet home of the Oil Capital Racing Series!

Easum ends drought with OCRS victory at Thunderbird Speedway


Oil Capital Racing Series

Easum ends drought with OCRS victory at Thunderbird Speedway

(Photo by Richard Bales) John Rittenoure - MUSKOGEE, Okla. (September 23, 2022) - it has been 5 months since Terry Easum last won an AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Sprint Car feature. But the drought came to an end Friday at Thunderbird Speedway.

Easum took the initial lead in his Premier Self Storage sprinter and pulled away from the field on the Thunderbird half-mile to record his second victory of the season.

The finish was a complete turnaround from his 19th place finish when the OCRS last visited Thunderbird on March 25.

“It has been half a season, but we have been racing the ASCS car a lot more and it has helping in this,” Easum said of his dominating run. “It definitely feels good to get one here. This place has been tough for us.”

Easum was chased for most of the race by Sheldon Barksdale and Blake Edwards. But with two laps remaining the race for second shifted with Johnny Kent driving into second. Kent came from 7th starting making him the D&G Contracting Hard Charger. Edwards held on to third and Barksdale dropped to fourth. Zach Chappell rounded out the top five.

While the field battled for second Easum was running his own race. His only concern was lapped traffic.

“The car was really good,” he said. “It would drive through the slick or the rubber. Dodging some of the lap cars was tough.”

AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Sprint Cars
Thunderbird Speedway - Muskogee, Oklahoma
September 23, 2022

AmeriFlex Hose Accessories A-Main (20 Laps): 1. 88-Terry Easum[1]; 2. 55-Johnny Kent[7]; 3. 17E-Blake Edwards[2]; 4. 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[3]; 5. 50Z-Zach Chappell[8]; 6. 5-Joe Bob Lee[9]; 7. 10-Jordan Knight[4]; 8. 26M-Fred Mattox[6]; 9. 4X-Heath Nestrick[10]; 10. 08E-Elizabeth Phillips[11]; 11. P78-Perry Pickard[13]; 12. 82-Keith Bolton[12]; 13. 11K-Tyler Knight[14]; 14. 12M-Mitchell Barros[18]; 15. 22M-Rees Moran[5]; 16. 9-Emilio Hoover[15]; 17. 24-Cody Hays[17]; 18. 2-Whit Gastineau[16]; 19. 38-James Fabian[19]

Schure Built Suspensions Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 88-Terry Easum[6]; 2. 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[3]; 3. 26M-Fred Mattox[4]; 4. 55-Johnny Kent[5]; 5. 50Z-Zach Chappell[7]; 6. 82-Keith Bolton[1]; 7. 08E-Elizabeth Phillips; 8. 11K-Tyler Knight[8]; 9. 12M-Mitchell Barros[2]; 10. (DNS) 38-James Fabian

Lightning Wings Powder Coating Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 2-Whit Gastineau[2]; 2. 22M-Rees Moran[1]; 3. 17E-Blake Edwards[5]; 4. 10-Jordan Knight[6]; 5. 4X-Heath Nestrick[3]; 6. 5-Joe Bob Lee[7]; 7. P78-Perry Pickard[4]; 8. 9-Emilio Hoover[8]; 9. 24-Cody Hays[9]

Lap Leaders: Terry Easum 1-20
Margin of victory: 6.470 seconds
D&G Contracting Hard Charger: Johnny Kent +7

Top 10 Standings: Blake Edwards 1626; 2. Rees Moran 1572; 3. Terry Easum 1564; 4. Whit Gastineau 1231; 5. Sheldon Barksdale 1226 6. Elizabeth Phillips 1068; 7. Joe Bob Lee 1001. 8. Johnny Kent 970; 9. Fred Mattox 812; 10. Danny Smith 800.

2022 Winners: 3/4 - Steven Shebester (Red Dirt Raceway); 3/5 - Tyler Drueke (Red Dirt Raceway); 3/19 - Blake Edwards (Creek County Speedway); 3/25 - John Carney II (Thunderbird Speedway); 3/26 - Tanner Conn (Lawton Speedway); 4/9 - Terry Easum (Oklahoma Sports Park); 4/23 - Johnny Kent (Creek County Speedway); 5/20 - Danny Smith (Tulsa Speedway); 5/21 - Steven Shebester (81 Speedway); 5/28 - Alex Sewell (Salina Highbanks Speedway); 6/24 - Tanner Conn (Red Dirt Raceway); 6/25 - Kyle Clark (Tri-State Speedway); 7/9 - Steven Shebester (Lawton Speedway); 7/22 - Whit Gastineau (Lake Ozark Speedway); 7/23 - Rees Moran (Lake Ozark Speedway); 9/23 - Terry Easum (Thunderbird Speedway).

About the AmeriFlex / OCRS Series -
Established in 2002, the Tulsa OK based AmeriFlex / OCRS series sanctions dirt track sprint car racing in the southern region of the central plains. Fan appeal and quality race teams, combined with our solid core of supporting sponsors are the nucleus of the series. Thrilling competition providing the ultimate quality family entertainment is the essence of what the AmeriFlex / OCRS series is all about.
?Website: www.ocrsracing.net?Facebook: www.facebook.com/oil.series

About Ameri-Flex Hose & Accessories -?Located in Tulsa OK, AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories is a family owned and operated company. From food grade hose to hoses for the petroleum industry, Ameri-Flex will strive to fill your needs. AmeriFlex can build a hose to your specifications or we will assist you in creating what you have designed while you wait. Ameri-Flex has several hard to find items that some vendors can’t get or find. Product can be shipped quickly and efficiently. If we do not have what you are looking for, we will direct you on where to find it. Give us a try, after all…………..?AmeriFlex Has The Stuff That Keeps You Going!

Website: www.AmeriFlexHose.com

AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Contingency Sponsors?AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories, Hoosier Racing Tires, Smileys Racing Products, Schoenfeld, Brodix, Lucas Oil, RacinDirt.TV, Schure Built Suspension, Lightning Wings & Powder Coating, Smith Titanium, MyRacePass.

Article Credit: John Rittenoure

Article Media

Back to News

Driver Registration

Driver Registration

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

May 30, 2021 Highlights - Thunderbird Speedway
June 26, 2021 Highlights - Southern Oklahoma Speedway
June 25, 2021 Highlights - Red Dirt Raceway
May 29, 2021 Highlights - Creek County Speedway
Hoosier Tire
Hoss Media
Lightning Wings
Same Day Auto